Born in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1944, I was placed in an orphanage. At age 6, I went to live with foster parents in Swan River, Manitoba. At age 12, we moved to Regina, Saskatchewan. While in public and in high school, I did well in art and won a couple of contests. I went to Balfour Technical School for the art course they offered. I left Regina in 1969 to live in Vancouver. I have worked as a window dresser, in print shops as a graphic artist and at Yellow Pages as a spec artist.

I dabbled in oils during that time and was in a Vancouver gallery in 1975 for a time. With a new wife and baby girl to support, I went into graphic arts full time, working out of my home.
In 2003, I discovered I had 6 half brothers and sisters of the Ojibway nation. I was the first born. My siblings had a different father. My mother lived on the Brokenhead Reserve just north of Winnipeg. I still have 4 siblings left.
Much time passed without me painting, but I still always took photographs and kept ideas knowing that someday, I’d pick up a brush again. I have been painting for the last few years and have a variety of interests that I think show in my paintings. I’m still experimenting with techniques.

Having said that, during these last few showings, I had to comment on my work and realize it is my life portrayed. You will notice that I don't do people... I was very much a loner during my younger years. I was very anti-social and anti-people. I like to say that people taught me that!  I'm still a bit that way. All that changed after I got married. My good wife brought out, I hope, the best in me. It is a good thing I was into sports while growing up.
Current interests, other than my art, is photography, curling, golf, fastball... sports in general. I coach or have coached curling and fastball the past few years while still doing graphics. I retired from coaching fastball after 27 years of coaching.

All in all, I am the luckiest person with the life I've had.

I'm a member of the Federation of Canadian Artists and member of AFC!